API Writer

Exploring API documentation

Registered on javaBLACKbelt.com

ProfileI registered on JavaBLACKbelt.com today. I like the concept of a community of users creating tests using contributions from the community itself. It is a fascinating example of Web 2.0. However, I found ‘Take a Test’ user interface confusing. It took me a few minutes to figure out how to actually take a test.

I clicked ‘Take a Test’ on the menu bar and selected the sub-menu item ‘Belt Track’. I read the overview for each test and then clicked on the first test Java SE- Basic. I read the description of the test and expected to see a ‘Take The Test’ or something at the bottom of the screen but it wasn’t there. I clicked on ‘view beta questions’ and learned more about the test creation methodology. After clicking on additional links (being very persistent), I finally found the link “Take The Real Exam”. The link is colored yellow-green and was not where I expected it to be.

Users are ranked with colored belts. A user gains a colored belt by passing multiple-choice tests and making contributions. User contributions are made by reviewing beta test questions and giving feedback with votes, creating new questions or revising existing questions. Submitted questions are reviewed and may eventually be added into the ‘real exam’. The first belt, yellow, does not require any contribution points allowing you to make a “fast start”. I agree that this is a good thing to do. Passing the test also shows that you know the basics of Java.

November 29, 2006 - Posted by | SCJP

No comments yet.

Leave a comment